Support recursive path handling

Hi RAML Community,
I use a recursive sub-resource path at my API, developed with JAX-RS. Because I can’t explain it better than showing an example, here is the example URI:

/widget/1212/subwidget/17/component/3414

or

/widget/1212/subwidget/17/subwidget/18/subwidget/19/component/3414

so subwidget/{sub_id} can repeat a few times. The recursion works correctly.

Is there any way to describe this in RAML ?

Thanks for reply.
Chris (Germany)

I’m not an expert here, but personally I don not recall seeing anything in the RAML spec that would allow for such constructs.

Just curious though: how do you model that in JAX-RS?

First of all… I am unclear how that is RESTful? By that I mean… why are you using paths to specify multiple widgets? In your 2nd example, is subwidget/19 a child of the collection found at subwidget/18? I guess it could be REST like…but it seems kind of odd to have such long URL paths that don’t seem to follow any normal pattern I’ve seen in REST APIs.

I am also curious how you handle it in your JAX-RS annotations? I was not aware that JAX-RS supported any sort of repeating pattern handling like that? Do you have some sort of path like {*} that you then parse the incoming path yourself in your method?

Hi michael, thanks for your reply.

I agree with that. Therefore I leave this question here to see if anyone knows a way to do that.

I use the JAX-RS reference implementation Jersey 2.0. You can do it this way:

public class SomeResource{
@Path("widget/{widgetNr}")
    public SubResource getSubResource(...){
        return new SubResource(...);
    }
}

public class SubResource{
    @Path("subwidget/{subwidgetNr}")
    public SubResource getSubResource(...){
        SubResource subResource = this;
        return subResource;
    }
    @Path("component/{compNr}")
    public CompResource getComponent(...){...}
}

As I sad, it’s only an example and not a snippet of my code. Hope it’s comprehensible.