Method 'patch' already exists

Hey All –

I may be going about doing this completely wrong so I’m open to all and any feedback. As background, I’m a BA/Product Manager and not an engineer who is trying to learn and work with RAML so I might be way off. I appreciate your patience!

What I’m trying to accomplish:
I want to document/show “intent-based” APIs. I have other details in the file and I’ve anonymized this but I’m outlining the main problem-statement first.

For example, I have a single method documented:

/resource:
    /{resourceId}:
        patch:
            displayName: updateResource()
            queryParameters:
                resourceStatus:
                    type: string
                    enum: [ active, cancelled, open, closed ]

This method is supposed to be a “generic” patch and pretty basic – good to go. Next I want to break it down and have an “API” specific for opening a resource, something like “openResource()”, and another for “closeResource()”, and so on. That way there is no ambiguity and if someone wants to open a resource, they call that API.

That ends up looking something like (the resourceStatus is pre-defined in types)…

/resource:
    /{resourceId}:
        patch:
            displayName: updateResource()
            queryParameters:
                resourceStatus:
                    type: string
                    enum: [ active, cancelled, open, closed ]

patch:
            displayName: openResource()
            queryParameters:
                resourceStatus:
                    type: resourceStatus
                    required: true
                    default: open

Hopefully that gets across the idea.

The issue
Now I get a linter error – “Method ‘patch’ already exists”. It makes sense because, yes, it already exists. However, I want it to already exist!.

Am I crazy and trying to do too much in the RAML file? Should this be saved for implementation instead?