How to include an Extension Typed Fragment?

I am new to RAML and modeling a large API that will have dozens of endpoints. I want to split the RAML up in to multiple files. The new RAML 1.0 Extension feature sounds perfect, but I can’t quite figure out how to use it. How or where do I include my RAML extension document in to my master RAML document? The spec has a few tantalizing hints, e.g.:

If a file begins with a RAML fragment identifier line, and the fragment identifier is neither Library nor Overlay nor Extension, the contents of the file after removal of the RAML fragment identifier line MUST be valid structurally according to the corresponding section of this RAML specification.

(emphasis mine) … but I can’t quite figure it out. Do I use the !include tag to reference the RAML extension document in the master RAML document? If so, where? I tried a few combinations but couldn’t get anything to work with API Designer.

If the RAML extension document isn’t referenced by the master RAML document, how does a RAML processor find it or even know it exists?

Thanks,
Roy

Let me show you an example :wink:

This is my main RAML file that describes an API interface with all the capabilities. It does not include any implementation specific details like baseUri to make it more portable to different environments. The file is called librarybooks.raml

#%RAML 1.0

title: Book Library API
documentation:
  - title: Introduction
    content: Automated access to books
  - title: Licensing
    content: Please respect copyrights on our books.
/books:
  description: The collection of library books
  get:
    responses:
      200:
        body:
          application/json:
            type: array
            items:
              type: object
              properties:
                title: string
              example:
                title: RAML 1.0
/library:
  get: