How can I create JSON schemas from YAML types?

Hi everybody,

I’ve been using RAML for about 3 months now, When we were about to publish our first API spec, RAML 1.0 was released and we decided to delay delivery and migrate to 1.0 due to the new data types system which is much better than 0.8’s types.

So now I have all my types declared in YAML, but I still need to publish JSON schemas for my clients so they can validate the JSONs coming in and out of the API.

Is there a tool that will convert a YAML type to a JSON schema automatically?

Thanks in advance,
rojocapo

@rojocapo, cool the wait was definitely worth as it seems :blush:

Indeed there will be tools coming out over the next couple of weeks that does exactly that. I’ll let you know when I have more news on that. There is a team working on this in our workgroup.

@christian_vogel That’s fantastic news! I was spending 80% of my time writing the schemas instead of focusing on the API itself. I find YAML types much more intuitive than JSON schemas, so easy to read and write.

You can’t imagine how much I hate writing JSON schemas with such a ridiculous amount of quotation marks, even for keywords. JSON schemas have horrible style, they make my eyes hurt when I read them. Good riddance!

Amazing! I was coming here to ask this question as well. Will this be a separate tool or part of an existing one? Which language will be used to run it? Node.js?

It will most likely Nodejs application that you will be able to run separately and in the near future inside the api-workbench.

I can’t wait for this as well!! If we can convert XML Schema and JSON Schema to YAML types… then back again, both in the API workbench and as a standalone tool… RAML will have elevated itself to a whole new level that as far as I can tell nothing else touches!

Yes! Glad to hear it! Is there any timeline for when you expect this to be out or a public repo which has a work in progress version?