Can RAML support multiple request bindings to one URL/verb?

I’m relatively new to RAML so I may have missed something obvious in what follows…

In Spring MVC you can have multiple Controller methods that are bound to the same combination of URL and HTTP action; Spring MVC allows this as long as there is sufficient information regarding request parameters and headers to enable two requests to be distinguished.

For example:

@RequestMapping(value="/thing", method=RequestMethod.GET, params={“date”})
@ResponseBody
public List findActiveOnDate(@RequestParam(“date”) final Date date);

and

@RequestMapping(value="/thing", method=RequestMethod.GET, params={“name”})
@ResponseBody
public List findByName(@RequestParam(“name”) final String name);

are allowed by Spring MVC because it can route GET requests to /thing based on which of the two request parameters “name” or “date” is present.

As far as I can see there is no way in RAML to express the idea that “name” and “date” are “alternative” request parameters in RAML. You only get one shot at defining the request characteristics of a GET at a given URL. So when mapping the above to RAML you have to include both request parameters and make them optional e.g.

/thing:
  get:
    queryParameters:
      name:
        type: string
        required: false
      date:
        type: date
        required: false

In the above RAML snippet, you can’t express formally the idea that either “name” or “date” is required, but not both.

The situation becomes more complex if the “variants” of the GET to /thing support multiple parameters, different response types etc. etc.

What seems to be missing is the ability to have multiple bindings for the same HTTP operation at a given URL - something like:

/thing:
     get:
        queryParameters:
          name:
            type: string
            required: true
     get:
        queryParameters:
          date:
            type: date
            required: true