Beginner to Raml

Hello I’m completely new to RAML/YAML. I was wondering if anyone here is able to help me set this RAML/YAML step by step. I am planning on using sublime for RAML. A working (full) example of a RAML file would be appreciated so I can play with how it works. The tutorial was not beneficial and the URL it provided is out of date.

I want to know how to run RAML off of sublime.
I want to know if it is possible to automate API test using RAML.

Hi,

First, I think the current tutorial is beneficial enough to get anyone started with a decent understanding of RAML. That said, I am sure when the 1.0 spec is finalized, we’ll start to see a lot more documentation and tutorials around RAML, especially given the adoption of RAML.

There is a project in the Projects link to get you set up to use Sublime 3 with RAML syntax color highlighting, but unfortunately the only “ide” that offers some sort of code completion is the API Designer project. It’s not hard to set up if you follow that Github documentation, but it does limit you to using HTML 5 storage with no way to export the files short of copy/paste. It’s a shame they don’t add that feature to it. There is an alternative version of API Designer (forget the URL but it’s in a forum post somewhere around here) that a developer did to allow you to use Mongo DB and centralize the use of the API Designer project. I have that set up myself and it too leaves a lot to be desired, but does work by storing all the files in mongodb as well as provides info on how to set up a 2nd port to pull the files via GET calls to the urls. The primary issue with the API Designer is larger files cause it to get really sluggish, so if you can keep your RAML files small, you should be fine.